Noodle Soup for Breakfast

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but there are an AWFUL LOT of food blogs out there.  There are food blogs with gorgeous, professional quality photography, blogs that document impressive make-everything-from-scratch foodie lifestyles, and blogs that beautifully illustrate and explain how to make the type of food that makes you swell with pride when you pull it off.  There are blogs devoted to virtually every genre of food you can imagine, blogs dedicated to dealing with dietary restrictions, and blogs that offer helpful real-person-perspective restaurant reviews

So what can I contribute that’s new or unique?  I’m not a great cook, and I’m definitely not a great photographer.  I’m not much of a writer at all.  I don’t have a particularly refined palette, nor am I particularly knowledgeable about food in general or some foodie niche in particular.

But I do love to cook and I do love to eat.  Food is increasingly one of the greatest passions in my life, and I guess I’m feeling the need to document it.  I don’t know yet what I’ll post about, but I already have some ideas.  Recipes that I’ve pieced together through trial and error and am proud of.  Experiments that work out . . . or don’t.  I have no problem documenting massive failures (I’m a scientist, we learn from such things).  The Anchorage food scene, as in specific restaurant reviews or impressions or recommendations.  Foods I enjoy while traveling.  Maybe some Alaskan subsistence food gathering or preparation stories.  And anything else food-related that comes up, I suppose!

So What’s the Noodle Soup Thing?

I took a trip a couple years ago to Southeast Asia, including Vietnam and Laos.  Many of the restaurants that are geared towards tourists try to offer western-style breakfasts (bread, egg, etc.) and I quickly realized that, even though I generally loved the food there, I was not enjoying the breakfasts.  Until I started ordering noodle soup for breakfast, like the locals would eat.  Bingo.  Now that I’m back home, I’ve never actually made noodle soup for breakfast, but it’s one item on a long list of cooking things I want to try.

And I guess that’s kind of what this blog will (hopefully) be about.

Breakfast on the Nam Ou in Laos.

Leave a Reply

